How to Make Your Instagram Account Private? – Configure your Privacy

Delete messages on TikTok x
Delete messages on TikTok

How to Make Your Instagram Account Private? – Configure your Privacy

Instagram is one of the most used social networks in the world today, almost all people with a smartphone have this application installed on their mobile. Instagram it works for public usea, that is, with your public profile, or privately with your account.

When you have your public profile on Instagram, anyone could see the posts you make, either in your feed or in your story. On the other hand, if your account is private, only people who follow you will be able to see what you post.

You Might Want To Read This:   Solution to the Error: 'The 3G or 4G Icon Does Not Appear When I Activate Mobile Data' on Android or iPhone

If you are interested in using this last modality on your Instagram, that is, keep your profile private, keep reading because we will be telling you how to do it.

What settings limit the display of your activity?

On Instagram, in addition to putting your profile private and hiding it, you can also activate some settings that allow you to take care of your privacy without having to put your private account, and we will discuss some of those options.

Selection of users in stories

One of the options you have available on Instagram to make your profile a little more private is limit the possibility of being tagged in stories. Basically the configuration prevents anyone, whether they follow you or not, from tagging your user in a photo that they upload to their Instagram story.

This option can be activated both if you have your private profile as public, Although anyone can see your profile because it is public, but you are a little concerned that they can tag you in stories, you can activate this setting and that will no longer be a problem.

You Might Want To Read This:   How to join a FaceTime call in Windows 10 - Easy Steps

Mention of specific contacts

Another option that you can activate to take care of your privacy is that some contacts they can’t tag you in photos they post in your feed. You can select that no one tag you in posts of that style, or you can simply set which users you don’t want to be tagged.

How to change your account from public to private on Instagram?

To change your Instagram account from public to private you have to activate some settings in the privacy settings from Instagram. For Android and iOS mobiles the dynamics change a bit so we will explain it to you for both cases.

how can i put privacy in my instagram account

With Android

If you want to place your private Instagram account from an Android mobile, the first thing you should do is enter the application. Once there, go to your profile and click on the 3 horizontal lines at the top right. Then go to Settings “,” Privacy “At the top of this section you will have the button that will say “Private account”, you just have to click on it and that would be it.

You Might Want To Read This:   How to download AMD RX 570 drivers for Windows 10

Using iPhone

The process on iPhone is very similar to Android. You have to enter your Instagram profile and click on the 3 horizontal stripes on the top right, then go to “Settings”. Once there, you will have to navigate to the “Privacy” section and in the “Account Privacy” section you must turn on the option “Private account”.

What to do to block Instagram users?

If you want to take even more care of your privacy on the Instagram social network and place your private account, You can also choose to manually block users from users who do not inspire confidence. To block a user, you just have to enter their profile and click on the 3 vertical dots that will appear on the top bar.

When the settings tab appears, go to the “Block” section, There you can select between two options, block that and all the accounts created by the user, or block only the user’s account. There you should select what you think best for you and that would be it.

You Might Want To Read This:   Solution: My Samsung Galaxy S6, S7, S8, S9, and S10 Reboots and Shuts Down by Itself

set your instagram privacy

What are the points to consider when changing your account to private?

Once you put your private Instagram account you must take into account some things that we are going to comment on next.

Share content on other platforms

When you make your Instagram account private, you lose the ability to share your content on other platforms as an app post. That is, if you upload a photo to your feed, you will no longer be able to share on your Facebook that you have made a publication on Instagram because since your profile is private, people who do not follow you will not be able to see what you have uploaded.

Requests to follow you

After you set up your private Instagram account, all the people who want to follow you must send you a request follow-up that you must accept. Once you accept that request, people will be able to access your profile and see both your publications and your stories.

You Might Want To Read This:   How to see if it is safe