How to leave a Slack workspace – Easy Steps

How to leave a Slack workspace

Slack supports multiple accounts and multiple workspaces. Multiple workspaces can be connected to a single account, for example, you have an email account and have been invited to multiple workspaces through it. Switching between these workspaces within Slack is easy, and you can hide a workspace if you like. That said, if you want to leave a Slack workspace, you can.

Exit the Slack workspace

Leaving a workspace in Slack is tricky; users are invited to a workspace by the workspace owner, that is, the person who set up the workspace. When you join such a workspace, the state of this workspace is a “default” workspace. To quit, you must contact the owner or administrator of the workspace.

An alternative is to log out of the workspace. You can still be tagged in messages, but you will not receive notifications of any activity from the workspace in Slack.

You Might Want To Read This:   How To Fix Taskbar Not A Clickable Issue In Windows 11/10

Exit Slack workspace – Deactivate account

Deactivation is a final user control. If you cannot contact a workspace administrator, deactivate your account in the workspace.

For this, follow these steps.

  1. Open Slack on your desktop and select the workspace you want to leave.
  2. Once selected, click on your profile icon in the upper right and select Profile from the menu.
  3. In the panel that opens, click the More button and select Account Settings.

  1. A new tab will open in your default browser.
  2. Scroll down to the Deactivate account section.
  3. Click the Deactivate account button.
  4. Your account in that workspace will be deactivated and you will no longer be able to receive messages or mentions directly or on a channel.

Reactivate Slack account

As an end user, you have the option to voluntarily deactivate your account in a Slack workspace; however, you cannot reactivate it at will. To rejoin the workspace, the workspace administrator or an owner must re-invite you. There is no way around this, so if you choose to deactivate an account in a workspace, make sure that you do not intend to return or that returning is manageable for you.

You Might Want To Read This:   How to Set Up Chromecast to Connect to My TV Quickly

conclusion

Slack workspaces are basically large groups created by a single person or company. They are not open spaces for the general public to join in, so entry and exit to a workspace is not open. If you’ve joined a Slack workspace via company email, you may not be able to deactivate your account. It really depends on the email you are using and the settings your company has applied to it.